#5 – Family Grieves

My father was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer a couple of months before I was pregnant. I thought the news of pregnancy would perk him up, give him a sense of focus in life and pump up his determination to fight on. However, the stress of surgery and chemotherapy truly dampened his will power to live on and robbed us of our dear father 5 months on. On hindsight, the trauma of having a close family member stricken with cancer could have an effect on the miscarriage. Up until now, I still do not understand why such a deadly illness would befall on a healthy and good person like my father. I guess I’ll never be able to know why the first pregnancy did not last. There are just so many unanswered questions.

Leave a Reply

