#12 – Whatever happened to Retail Therapy?

To friends who know me, I’m a hardcore shopaholic. Just to give you some context, I can comb through a shop in just a few seconds and identify items that are suitable for me, look nice on me and will fit me alright (no trying needed). Call it an acquired skill over time, but it really saves a lot of time.

When I became preggers, shopping took on a whole new dimension. Suddenly, I had no clue on what to buy for all the baby stuff. Don’t get me wrong, I still get excited on hitting the baby shops but when I was there, everything seemed so foreign to me and I was at a loss; which was a strange feeling for a shopaholic like me. Take baby clothes as an example, there were separates, rompers, sleeveless, short-sleeved, long-sleeved, fastened by buttons or ribbons, available in all colours that you can imagine. Like adults’ clothes, there were also sizes differentiated by 0 months, 3-6-9-12-18 months etc but the question is how many sets to buy given that my baby seemed to be on the heavier side and that she would probably outgrow the small sizes rather quickly?

And then there were bottles, teats, breast pads, cleaning brush or sponge, washing detergent or powder etc. This was really a new (also alien) world to me. Enough said, I think you get the point. All I can say is that I’m so glad that I have two very experienced and kind sisters who went all out to get the basic necessities for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

