#13 – Changing Job

I started looking out for a change of role way before I was pregnant, as I had accomplished what I was recruited for. I went for several interviews but nothing really materialized. It was either the job scope was not what I wanted for my next career move or the remuneration was not what I anticipated. I am someone who enjoys constant challenges as they bring out the best in me.

During one of the fetal scans, it revealed a grouchy-looking baby and I knew that I had to do something about it. I can either (1) quit and focus on my pregnancy since I went through quite a lot to conceive my little precious one or (2) get another job but that would not be fair to my future employer.

Just when I was deliberating about this, a potential employer whom I was pursuing for a while offered me the role. I came clean with them, informing them that as the interview process took longer than expected, and I was already 5 months pregnant. I would totally respect their decision should they retract the offer. Being a multi-national organization known for their family-centricity, they offered me the job anyway.

Call me brave, I tendered my resignation and moved on despite being in my third trimester. I still wonder how I did it since I did not have any prior relevant experience for the new role and that it was a much bigger role than what I had. I knew it would be tough since I was heavily pregnant but I went ahead with full zest, looking forward to the new challenge!

Leave a Reply

