#102 – Favouritism

Everyone has their favourite and I’m no exception. After all, L has been with us for 3 years. It helps when she’s so interactive, responsive, sociable, cheeky, funny…I can just go on and on. The fact that she genuinely loves her brother and always looking out for him makes me love her even more. For a 3.5 year old girl to behave this way, I think it’s very commendable. I don’t expect kids of this age to exhibit so much care and concern of another smaller individual who’s constantly vying for the parents’ attention. So yes, I love and adore L, over and above A at times. I know that I shouldn’t but I’m not a saint and I tend to compare the two of them.

When L was born, she was a fat baby and already very cute and chubby. It’s really hard to beat the weight of a 4-kg baby. And as she blossoms, she becomes cuter each day, always coming up with new acts to make us laugh and endear everyone to her. Her quick wit and cheekiness never fail to capture our hearts.

When Baby A was born, he was just about 300g short of L’s newborn weight but still considered a big baby. His looks are cute and his gaze was very alert, always noticing who’s around him. I must say that it’s rather unusual for newborn babies who are typically sleepy or asleep at most times. He’s not as interactive as L but as they say, boys develop slower and I’m still waiting, haha!

As Baby A grows day by day, he becomes better and better looking each day. His single eyelids became double eyelids one by one (starting with the left and then the right). It’s interesting to see the transformation of his looks, in a good way. He now has sharp features making him a very good-looking baby boy. I’m not just saying this cos I’m his mum but they are words of many others too. ;p

People always say “don’t compare your kids” but we are humans after all, aren’t we?

Leave a Reply

