#103 – New Sibling Syndrome (not again?)

Just when I thought that the new sibling syndrome was over, it happened again when I least expected it.

A couple of weeks ago (it was coincidentally the onset of the Chinese Hungry Ghost month), L started being “shy” and didn’t want to say hi to neighbours in the lift. I found that puzzling as she has always been a very sociable kid who doesn’t shy away from greeting even strangers in the lift. I didn’t want to think much of it, especially since they say that kids can sense supernatural beings that adults can’t. Then just last week, she started clinging onto me, refusing to go to her favourite English enrichment class. She would be fine until the moment I leave the classroom. She would act up by crying incessantly and say that she wants mama. Thank goodness that her teacher is well-trained in handling such situations. She swept L up and comforted her. I took a deep breath and left L in her care, turned around and left the classroom, in the midst of her deafening cries. It was heart-breaking, trust me. I stayed on outside the classroom until she stopped crying, which was just a while later and I heaved a sigh of relief before heading off for my weekly sandwich. I brushed it off as a one-off incident.

Then, it happened again at her Chinese enrichment class and again every morning at her pre-school. This is not funny alright cos it can be very tiring for a breastfeeding mum who’s suffering from sleep deprivation. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it’s just a passing phase. Really, I shouldn’t speak so soon in future…

Leave a Reply

