#125 – Lucky Star

It was Saturday and I wanted to bring the kids to Jacob Ballas (kids version of Botanic Gardens). As it turns out, S was tired and decided to take an afternoon nap. So I brought them out on my own. When I reached Jacob Ballas, I was disappointed as its façade were boarded up. I asked the guard if it was still open and thank goodness, he said yes. I was already making plans to visit the nearby Botanic Gardens instead if it was indeed closed for renovation.

It was bright and sunny and L was happily building her sand castle. Then suddenly, I felt a few drops of rain and I quickly asked L to pack up and put her sandals back on while I put Baby A back into the stroller. As I was doing all these, other parents and kids had already started running for shelter as the downpour was sudden and didn’t appear like it would stop anytime soon.

Everything happened very quickly and L was caught by surprise and didn’t know how to react. She asked me to help her with her sandals and I just quickly put them on (I would usually make her do it herself). I grabbed her and her toys and started running, with the stroller in tow, to the nearest shelter. Before the outing, L was instructed to be obedient as I would need her help to “look after” her little brother. She was co-operative and held onto the stroller as we ran.

Despite that, we were totally drenched by the time we reached the shelter. Many other parents and kids were in the same state. When I looked around, I think Baby A was the youngest of them all. After all, he’s just an infant of 9 months! I quickly wiped them dry and with the kind staff’s help, pack them into the car and drove back. I called home to instruct my helper to meet me downstairs in 15 minutes and at the same time, prepare hot bath water for them.

When I reached the shelter, she was nowhere to be seen. In fact, she sashayed to me 5 minutes later. By which time, I was fuming mad. I asked her why she was late and that she shouldn’t compromise on my kids’ health since they were drenched in rain and needed to change out quickly. She was quick to cover up, citing that the clock at home was 5 minutes late. I took all the clocks and showed her that I know she was just making an excuse. Then she said that she was frying eggs, another excuse in my opinion. Sigh, I don’t know what to say.

When I read the news later, I learned that a tall tembusu tree fell in Botanic Gardens, the same time we were at Jacob Ballas. One person was killed and 4 others injured. I heaved a sigh of relief. Had we gone there, we could have been hit by the tree. Thank god for not bringing us there!

Leave a Reply

